My Manga Inspired Graphic Novel

ImageTook me three years ( 6 academic semesters ) to finish my private graphic SciFi novel back in 1995. I was doodling this half tracked vehicle that could turn to a robot or mecha and came with this idea why not make a story of it. The story is inspired from an Anime “Warriors of the Wind”, an English dubbed of Hayao MiyazakiNausicaa of the Valley of the Wind” plus another Japanese great Akira Kurosawa‘s “Seven Samurai”. I couldn’t make my mecha ideas without again, inspiration from an Anime master Shoji Kawamori of Macross.

The worst part of this manga is story telling. Without experience in any writing form, even drawing human poses, I just sketch any idea that my mind would think. I encounter “writers block” and other stumbling blocks that came along like getting rejected from a special someone. But those rejection added fuel to my creativity and after a long pause, the comics was finish. The story was awful but it was worth it. I just finish a rough editing of the story back in 2008 and still doing some proof reading on it. My lead mecha was also being revised and still being perfected.

Getting noticed will be a long shot but there is no harm in dreaming.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

